Home Forums [MOVED] Say Hello Hello!

2 replies, 3 voices Last updated by Mr. Love Chard 3 years, 3 months ago
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Karen
      Participant
      @KWhit

Hi, I’m Karen. I’m 49, I work full-time as a graphic designer/manager. I am a mother of three my oldest (23) just moved out and moved further away than we liked but she is in our prayers as she searches for a job and tries to make it on her own. My son (18) just graduated and will start college this fall and our youngest daughter is 15. I married my high school sweet heart and we will be celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary next month.

In 2014, I finally decided enough was enough I was tired of feeling tired and run down. I was tired of clothes that didn’t fit, I was tired of pain in my feet, knees, and shoulder. I lost 57 lbs by counting calories and making better food choices and moderate exercise. Last year was very difficult I lost my dad to heart disease. I was his main care provider for the last 3-4 months of his life. My mom suffers some dementia so she wasn’t able to care for him by herself. Since dad passed away my mom has had 3 bad falls the last one resulting in a broken pelvis. I have been caring for her and overseeing all her financial affairs as well as holding down my full-time job and raising my family. Needless to say for the last year I have been putting everyone else’s needs ahead of my own. I gained 12 lbs and fell back into many of my old eating habits.